Orbitz.com
Advertized hotel was below grade and actual rate by hotel 50% lowe

From: ******@*****.com
To: erd@ orbitz.com

Sent: Friday, October 26, 2012 4:53 AM
Subject: Hotel reservation with record locator PBORB049899****

Hi,

I have a problem with the reservation for the hotel Rio in Milan with record locator PBORB049899**** below.
I paid $519 (401 euros) for 2 nights.
The hotel received 142 euros per night for my stay as I saw on my room statement at the front desk.
This means the price that I was charged was 58 euros per night more than the hotel rate for my reservation.
Based on the room rate and hotel rating given to me by Orbitz, we were under the impression we were going to stay at a nicer 3 star hotel, instead it was worse than a 2 star.

I would like to be refunded 116 euros ($150) that I was overcharged.
Thank you

From: Orbitz - RRD Escalations
To: ******@*****.com
Sent: Friday, October 26, 2012 12:27 PM
Subject: Hotel reservation with record locator PBORB049899**** [Incident: 121026-00****] Subject
Hotel reservation with record locator PBORB049899**** Discussion Thread Response Via Email (Customer Service)
10/26/2012 11:27 AM

Thank you for contacting Orbitz.

I understand that this is concerning the hotel reservation you have booked. I apologize for the inconvenience you have encountered due to this situation.

After reviewing your account, I am seeing a past hotel reservation at 'Rio' in Milan last October 23, 2012.

After reviewing your reservation is appears that the hotel shared with you our contracted rate. Orbitz offers the lowest hotel rates possible to our customers but we do not sell rooms at our net rates and it is our hope you will understand this.

During the booking process you selected a pre-paid hotel property. The rates of the pre-paid inventory are negotiated by [brand] with the hotel and are intended to be confidential between the two entities. Just as with any retail provider, there is a difference between the wholesale cost and retail cost. The rate disclosed to you by the hotel is Orbitz negotiated rate, and is typically not available to the public.

A good example would be the price a department store pays for an item of clothing; if they buy the item in bulk they pay less per piece, they then sell the item at the higher rate to supplement the cost of the store's operating costs. It is true for the travel industry as well.

You can still view the amount you agreed to pay in your My Trips. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this causes but, unfortunately, we are not able to compensate you for the difference in costs.

And we apologize that the star rating at the [hotel name] set an expectation that was not achieved. Orbitz works closely with our hotel partners to ensure the star rating posted on our website accurately represents the quality of the hotel property. We look at customer reviews, similar properties, and our competitors to evaluate whether the start rating is accurate and reasonable. When we learn of a mismatch between reality and expectations based on customer reviews and our own internal investigation, we will review the specifics and, if warranted, change the star rating to match real world conditions.

We appreciate your business and hope you will give us another opportunity to fully restore your confidence in our products and services.

Sincerely,

Eric Matthews
Orbitz Email Service Team

When you Orbitz, you know!
www.Orbitz.com

From: *****@*****.com
To: Orbitz - RRD Escalations
Sent: Monday, October 29, 2012 11:26 AM
Subject: Re: Hotel reservation with record locator PBORB049899**** [Incident: 121026-00****]

Hi,
Orbitz site states: `` Orbitz earns a service fee on some online hotel transactions. The "Taxes and Fees" line includes a fee we charge and retain in exchange for the services we provide in facilitating your transaction with the hotel. There is no additional fee for booking a hotel reservation by phone. ``
According to this explanation, there is no "negotiated" or "retail" rates; Orbitiz earns it's fee per transaction. I would say a fair rate would be at most 10% per transaction, or 28 euro (36 dollars) for the room rate of 142 euro. This still leaves 88 euro ( $114) overcharge. (As I mentioned, the walk-in rate for these nights at this hotel was 130 euro, and hotel's website currently lists it's double room rate as 120 euro, or 102 euro with prepay).
I still believe this is just an accounting mistake, and Orbitz will do right by me. However, if this is not the case, I will have no choice but to make other travelers who maybe considering using Orbitz aware of the details of this incident via online forums and reviews, as well as file a complaint with BBB.
Regards

From: Orbitz - RRD Escalations
To: ****@****.com
Sent: Monday, October 29, 2012 12:10 PM
Subject: Hotel reservation with record locator PBORB049899**** [Incident: 121026-00****] Subject
Hotel reservation with record locator PBORB049899**** Discussion Thread Response Via Email (Customer Service)
10/29/2012 11:10 AM

Thank you for contacting Orbitz.

I understand that you were overcharged in the hotel rates. We are sorry if you feel this way.

Please be advised that during the booking path, our display showed the lowest rate available for reservation for the hotel and dates you requested. And you agreed for the total price of $519.56 . You can still view the amount you agreed to pay in your My Trips.

We regret that we are unable to process any refund for the difference in the rates. We hope that you understand that our customer can only have the rate stated on our web site and not the rate that Orbitz and the hotel agreed upon.

We value you as a customer and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Liezel
Orbitz Email Service Team

When you Orbitz, you know!
www.Orbitz.com


Offender: Orbitz.com
Country: USA   State: All USA

0 0
Information
Users of Guest are not allowed to comment this complaint.
Please register on our website, it will take a few seconds.