Complaint information
  • Author: Anonymous
  • Date: 05.6.2013
  • 0
 (Votes #: 0)
05.6.2013

NetZero Wireless Internet Access

Hi,

I sent for your equipment in February 2013 and received the NetZero stick in the mail on February 14, 2013, the official date that my service became active.
I paid for the delivery charge, ($20.00) and the first months payment of $9.99 in order to use the product.
On approx. February 21, my Internet connection was blocked and I could not access the internet.

This is when I began communication with your tech support and customer service personnel.

While trying to resolve issues such as payment, and discussing the details of the connection type, service package details, and usage data information,
your customer service and support people hung the phone up in my ear on at least 5 occasions. Secondly, all of them except (1) person reached by phone
spoke either Japanese or Chinese. This was an issue because I speak American English. I thought this was the problem, so I kept calling hoping that someone that I could better understand, and they better understand me would answer your phone. It didn’t happen, and the results was frustration and a lack of communication regarding each issue.

In February, I cancelled the account because after posting $20.00 more to the account in the same month, ( a total of $30.00) I did not receive more than 20 hours of internet access, nor was I informed about the nature of your billing cycles and usage data. However, a day later, I reordered the service under a verbal agreement that my service was to be upgraded to your $34.99 package; from February 21, 2013 – March 1, 2013 I did not have Internet service!! I was blocked from using the Internet.
However, after posting payment of $34.99 for newly upgraded service on March 1, 2013, the service was restored for five days.

I went to the billing information section at the Netzero website on March 5, 2013 to check the billing listed there and usage stats. I had received email confirming the payment of $34.99. But at the website it showed that only $9.99 was actually deducted from my debit card account. This change was made without my knowledge and when I contacted the rep for Netzero, a Chinese woman, stated that she would not allow the $34.00 payment because of a previous agreement made with her, not Netzero to provide free time online starting March 1, 2013. She did promise this arrangement, but I didn’t want the free time at $9.99, I wanted the $34.99 for 2,000 mb. (their lingo)

I immediately tried to contact your corporate office, because the very next day, my connection was blocked again, and a note sent via email demanding payment of $34.99. That same day, I contacted these people again, and they slammed the phone in my ear a second time! I told them in the conversation that I had kept my part of the agreement by posting the payment, although I was blocked from using the internet. This complaint fell on deaf ears, and the rest was history. After a cycle of trying to post the payment they demanded and cancel the account (again) simultaneously, I continued to receive email demanding payment.

The point in all this is the Law states that if a customer cancel a service, and a contract regarding the service is not in force, which is the type of plan I had with Netzero, the company is obligated to cancel the account within 48 hours. After the March 5th date, Netzero has continued to bill me for services. I sent a slew of email in this regard, politely asking that they cancel the account. I received over 11 emails! In response to three of them, I asked over and over again that the service be cancelled. In March, I began using another service, Clear. I purchased their modem at Best Buy and I have been using their service, not Netzero for over two months. Yet, Netzero has proceeded to deduct money from my MasterCard account for services they did not provide for March, April, and May.

I need a resolution, and have those funds returned to my account immediately! I have exhausted all options with NetZero, even offering to pay the $34.99 they requested again on March 2, although I offered and paid it on March 1. In addition, your refusal to cancel services is a mystery to me, since agreeing to payment would have finish payment for any service offered by NetZero. I have the email requesting cancellation and even received one verifying that the service had been cancelled in March, 2013, and another in April 2013.

In addition, the double provider (NetZero and Clear) accounts is causing computer problems, and online access issues. The error message is included in this email.

Thank you for your prompt attention to this matter.

I can be reached at
Phyllis Graham
(Personal Information Removed)
Previous account ID:(Personal Information Removed)
Primary email: (Personal Information Removed)


Thank You for reading of this Complaint / Review.
Complaint author: Anonymous

Country: USA
State: California
City: Woodland Hills
Address: 21301 Burbank Boulevard
ZIP code: 91367
Phone: 2063015700, 8668411442
Site: www.netzero.net

Category: Miscellaneous

Dear visitor, you have entered to site as unregistered user.
We recommend you to Register or Login to website under your name.

Information
Members of Guest cannot leave comments.

USACONSUMERCOMPLAINTS.COM - United States Consumer Complaints, Reviews, Reports, Feedbacks and Claims. Board of Shame. Black list.

Every consumer of goods and services can leave on the site USACONSUMERCOMPLAINTS.COM a complaint, review, report, a claim or negative feedback on the person, firm, company, shop, service or web-based project, whose actions left this consumer dissatisfied.

^