Complaint information
  • Author: Laura
  • Date: 08.20.2012
  • 0
 (Votes #: 0)
08.20.2012

Ikea

July 31, 2012 (Tuesday) – I placed an online order for a Brimnes queen-size storage bed and matching headboard with storage compartment for my son, totalling $606.81 (including delivery charge and taxes) charged to my VISA. The estimated delivery date was Sunday, August 5, 2012. On the invoice, it stated that the delivery company will contact me to confirm a delivery time.
August 4, 2012 (Saturday) – I called IKEA in the evening to confirm if my delivery was indeed going to show up tomorrow since it is Sunday. The customer representative confirmed that my delivery was scheduled for August 5 between 9AM-9PM and that they do deliver on Sundays.
August 5, 2012 (Sunday) – My son and I stayed home all day, waiting patiently for the delivery. I even let my son stay up late because he was excited to see his “big boy” bed come in but it never came.
August 6, 2012 (Monday – provincial holiday) – I called Ikea to ask why the delivery did not come and the customer representative confirmed that it was indeed scheduled for August 5th but due to the holiday, it might have been delayed. They will contact me to confirm when the new delivery date would be.
August 7, 2012 (Tuesday) – Dynamex Ikea, the delivery company, left me a voicemail while I was at work to call them back and confirm a delivery time. I called them back in the evening and a new delivery date was confirmed: August 10 from 5-9PM.
August 10, 2012 (Friday) – I asked permission from my boss to leave work a half hour early since I work all the way in the West End and I want to ensure that I was home by 5PM. At around 8:45PM, I called to confirm if the delivery was still coming and the customer representative confirmed that they deliver until 9PM and I had to be patient. At 9:15PM, I called IKEA again but the office was closed.
August 11, 2012 (Saturday) – I called Ikea at 9AM and asked why my delivery did not show up and the customer representative said that I was not the first one to call about the same problem. There seems to be a problem with one of their delivery trucks but rest-assured that all the deliveries that were not made yesterday will be done today, including mine. They could not narrow the timeframe but it could be anywhere from 9AM-9PM.
Let it be noted that we had plans to go out of town (Merrickville) for the weekend and we have tickets to see a Demolition Derby in the evening. But since someone had to be home to receive the delivery, we held off in leaving, thinking that the delivery will be done early enough and we could still make it in time for the show.
I called multiple times during the day and I keep getting the same response: the bed has left the warehouse and is en route and that I can expect it to be delivered anytime between 9AM-9PM. At one point, I even asked to speak with the manager but the customer representative said that she was busy with another customer. I even said I would stay on the line and wait but I was never transferred to her. The customer representative said that they will call me back at home once they have any new information since they themselves had difficulty reaching Dynamex Ikea to get an update. They never called me back.
I am already furious at this point and I thought I would try one last time before 9PM comes. I finally got through to the assistant manager who assured me that the delivery will come tomorrow instead, between 9AM and 1PM. She said that they were able to make contact with Dynamex Ikea and this is the new delivery time.
August 12, 2012 (Sunday) – At 9AM, I called to confirm that the delivery was coming today because I did not want to spoil our Sunday plans if it was not going to show up. The customer representative confirmed that the truck has my bed and that it is en route to be delivered between 9AM-1PM.
Obviously, the assistant manager’s word meant nothing because 1PM came and the delivery did not happen. I called at 1:15PM and they asked me to be patient because it is in transit. I called at 2PM and I got the same message. Finally the truck shows up at 2:13PM.
I asked the delivery guy what happened and why my delivery is this late. The delivery guy simply replied that I talk to Ikea because they just got the boxes 30 minutes ago!!! I asked if the set was complete and the guy said that it was all they received and that if I had any problems that I should get in touch with Ikea.
At this point, I was just relieved that the bed is finally here. I had given my son’s old bed away since August 5, thinking that I would have the replacement by then. For the last week, he has been sleeping with me in my bed which is not quite ideal.
At around 3PM, after I have calmed down a bit, I started assembling the bed. I noticed that when I opened the second box, it looked surprisingly identical to the first one. I just thought that they split the 4 storage drawers in two boxes. But of course, I would not be so lucky. They gave me two Box #1s, Box #3, and Box#4 but no Box#2.
I immediately called Ikea to report it and they told me that they would gladly exchange Box#1 for a Box#2 and gave me a new reference #. The earliest date they could do the exchange is August 19 (Sunday) between 9AM-9PM. I was already too tired to argue at this point for an earlier delivery date and I just accepted the fact that I can look forward to another weekend being ruined.
Ikea did offer to refund me my delivery charge of $89 as compensation for the delivery mishap at this point. It was a nice gesture but it is hardly enough to compensate for the time I have wasted.
August 18, 2012 (Saturday) – I called Ikea to confirm if the delivery date was still tomorrow and they confirmed that their records do show that date.
?
August 19, 2012 (Sunday) – At 11AM, I called Ikea to confirm if the delivery truck was en route and the customer representative said yes. At 3PM, I called Ikea once more to confirm if the delivery was still going to happen and this time, the customer representative said that the merchandise is not scheduled to be picked up from the warehouse until August 24!!! I said that this is unacceptable and that I demanded that it be delivered sooner but the customer representative said that the order was only made on August 12 (the date of the new reference # or the “after sales customer service date”).
I am furious at this point after being lied to so many times and I have no recourse but to file a formal complaint. They have currently wasted 5 days of my life (August 5, 10, 11, 12, 19) and I still don’t have Box#2 to complete the bed up to now.
I have been more than patient. I have rescheduled my activities to accommodate their delivery schedule and they failed to deliver at every opportunity. They do not call back or give courtesy calls to say that they are unable to make the delivery at the promised time. I had to initiate every call and be on hold for a very long time for each call. They refused to give any customer service standards, saying it depends on which item was purchased. They refused to escalate the problem to their superiors and make empty promises as a runaround. And to top it all, each customer representative and/or manager that I have talked to always wash their hands of the other’s promises, saying it was not them who made that statement and that I should not be mad at them. They can only tell me what appears on their screen and don’t even confirm its accuracy. It is puzzling that they could not get a hold of their own delivery company and get real time updates.
I have never been this furious in my whole life. I have ordered many items through the internet and have never experienced this much frustration. It is my first Ikea purchase and I regret it.


Thank You for reading of this Complaint / Review.
Complaint author: Laura

Country: USA
State: Pennsylvania
City: Conshohocken
Address: 420 Alan Wood Rd.
ZIP code: 19428
Phone: 8004344532
Site: www.ikea.com/us/en/

Category: Miscellaneous

Dear visitor, you have entered to site as unregistered user.
We recommend you to Register or Login to website under your name.

Information
Members of Guest cannot leave comments.

USACONSUMERCOMPLAINTS.COM - United States Consumer Complaints, Reviews, Reports, Feedbacks and Claims. Board of Shame. Black list.

Every consumer of goods and services can leave on the site USACONSUMERCOMPLAINTS.COM a complaint, review, report, a claim or negative feedback on the person, firm, company, shop, service or web-based project, whose actions left this consumer dissatisfied.

^