Complaint information
  • Author: ComputerJunkie
  • Date: 11.15.2012
  • 0
 (Votes #: 0)
11.15.2012

eBay - Complaints / Reviews / Scam Reports
eBay Buyer Protection program indefinitely

This is a Complaint / Review about eBay.


I have been a member of eBay since 2001. I have 100% perfect feedback. ONLY ONE time did I receive a negative feedback and eBay saw in my favor to have it removed, because the information WAS listed in the description, therefore they saw in my favor.

Several years ago, I bought a backgammon board that was said to be in like mint condition. The felt and velveteen lining was literally rotting, the chip compartment literally came out-I took pictures and sent to eBay and the seller. They did NOT have Buyer Protection in place either-I got refunded.

No problems for years. Let me start by saying, I got into this mess because of eBay advertising Buyer Protection if items are not as described-it gave me the faith to take that chance, especially on software.

On 8/23/2012, I looked for Grim Reaper costume in 3X and was excited to see I found one and bought it. Sorry, but it was not as described-size or thickness of material. Had to go back and forth, but no disputes-just a refund. She even thanked me for how well I re-packaged it and apologized and I said how I wished it was as it sounded-good ending.

On 10/19/2012, I bought MS Windows 7 Ultimate from 1 seller who stated brand new, factory sealed, free shipping, etc. I paid for it and within 15 minutes I received a download link and product key-Ah NO!!! So I wanted to call eBay, I did not call yet, was only checking rules and regs on their different pages and before I knew it, I was LOCKED OUT from the dispute resolution center!!! I had to go online to a website that says how to really get a hold of eBay to get their phone number?! I called and the CSR agreed he also thought I was getting a physical item and had me make a claim under Buyer Protection after the alotted amount of time?! I had to wait 24 hours (10/20/2012), even though we both knew there was a definite problem?! Once I made the dispute, the seller reimbursed me VERY quickly-30 minutes or less.

On 10/19/2012, I bought MS Office 2010 Pro. I received the package, finally installed it. It came up

I then wrote another seller who was selling Windows 7 Ultimate and they said they respond to E-mails, I would really get a factory sealed box in my mailbox and so on. On 10/29/2012, I lost the bid on this item, BUT then I was given second chance, in less than 2 hours, to buy it???, so I did.Was probably a dummy bid just to get people to bid. I got the package and first thing I noticed was the logo on the front was a different color. Then I noticed the yellow sticker said ROW. I did a bunch of research and learned how the MS Seal should look, what the codes meant, the UPC was actually a UK number...and I was told to check for typos on the box.Guess what? Typos=COUNTERFEIT COPY!!! So I turned in a report and again, within an hour or so, the seller reimbursed me.

Also on 10/19/2012, I bought MS 2010 Office Pro. Received the package, took some time to install it. When I did, I saw it came up as Office Pro PLUS??? I shrugged for minute and did updates. When I realized the above 7 Ultimate was a counterfeit, it made me wonder why this came up as PLUS. SO, I grabbed the shipping box, grabbed the shrink wrap and noticed it said INTL. OH NO!! So, MORE research-ALSO a UK UPC!!! I found that site that talked about counterfeit copies and read that IF your copy of Office says 2010 Pro on the box AND the CD, but when you install it, it comes up Office Pro PLUS, guess what=ILLEGAL!!! It's for business volume buying only with extras on it. One day during updates, MS will figure out you are not supposed to have this and they will just deactivate it and you will be out of the money and the product!!! SO, AGAIN, another claim!!! On 11/13/2012, I did NOT get an E-mail (WHY NOT???), but I did go to the resolution center and found this:Final decision: This case was decided in your favor. The only E-mail I got on 11/13/2012 was a free return shipping label and I printed that and sent the package on 11/14/2012.

On 11/15/2012 at 1:28 AM CST, I get this:

To keep eBay a trustworthy place for all members, we routinely review buying and selling activity. In reviewing your account, we found:

-- An unusually high rate of buyer protection cases being opened for items not as described.
-- An unusually high number of refunds received that are outside the sellers' return policy.

Because of this behavior, we've:
--Restricted your ability to buy items or place bids for the next 14 days.
--Removed your account from the eBay Buyer Protection program indefinitely. You won't be able to open any cases in the Resolution Center.
--Removed from related seller profiles any neutral or negative Feedback and low detailed seller ratings left by you within the past year.

This restriction only affects buying, and will be automatically lifted after 14 days have passed. You'll still be able to sell on eBay and complete transactions for items you've already won.

Please be aware that if this activity continues, you may be subject to a range of other actions, including suspension of your eBay account.

REALLY?!?!?! ME getting suspended??? "Trustworthy", because of this "Behavior"...Me being removed from Buyer Protection INDEFINITELY?!?!?!?!

The Buyer Protection has been placed because of people being scammed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I would NEVER have bought those items if I thought I might get burned on software!!! It gave me the confidence to go for it.THEN when I got burned TWICE??? Then they see my problem but they punish me?!?!

And WHY should/would I sell for my items on their site, making them fees when they did this to me??? One of the reps on the phone even said you can get legitimate software, but there are a lot of fakes out there! Other sites say that for every 5 software CD's out there 1 is counterfeit or illegal. WHY do you think I bought this software in the first place??? CAUSE I WANTED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I want Ultimate for the free Language pack and to utilize my 32 GB of RAM I bought, as well as, the added security features. I wanted Office 2010 to have the latest software since I use Office a LOT. I am on limited income and only trying to save a few dollars.Imagine how excited I was when I finally got software in my price range and well, how friggin disappointed and stressed I was to find I wasted all that time, money and now have to go through all these stupid hoops to get my money back!!!

And then upon reading this E-mail, sure I was 100% totally ticked and went to contact them-they ONLY gave me the call option-NO E-mail and it's closed at 10 PM PST, but yet they can send that E-mail about the time they closed!!!

I cannot believe the VICTIM is the one being PUNISHED here-whether it is me or you or someone else!!! This is Quatsch!!!

I do NOT have to have eBay, nor does any other victim out there! I CAN take my business elsewhere for sure and if they do not fix this immediately, that's exactly what I will do! 11 years with them, always being a VERY careful seller and TRY to be a careful buyer, and they place that facade of protecting the buyer?!?!?! BAH!!!!!!!!

Back in 2001, it was a great place to sell and even buy. Then they started changing rules to the point that sellers look like they have a good rating, ONLY because all their negatives dropped off after time. Then on certain things you could not even leave a negative-REALLY?? The entire point is that there are sellers out there and buyers NEED to know that they can trust that seller. IF they see they cannot, and still buy from that person-then it's their own fault. A conscientious buyer will only go for the sellers with good ratings-I always check this. But, if they are new, 1 or 2 sales or 0...you cannot tell and take a chance-someone has to be first at bat. I even reported a listing, that is still on there, for a man wearing a Cubs sweater, giving you the finger and it's been up for months, in a store and do you think they removed it?! NO!

eBay really needs to revert back to the old school method they had in place. AND they need to stand behind their Buyer Protection. Believe me, IF that software would have been legit, I would have been happy as a clam, been using my added features and giving great feedback! Who in their right mind would think I like going through all this garbage?! This is why I am here-I want some justice!!! I want this restriction stricken from my record. If eBay agrees I have a case then they need to stand by me and protect me, NOT punish me!!!


Thank You for reading of this Complaint / Review. For viewing of other complaints, reviews or scam reports about eBay, press here.
Complaint author: ComputerJunkie

Offender: eBay

Country: USA
State: All USA
Address: 2145 Hamilton Avenue San Jose CA 95125
Phone: 4083767425
Site: www.ebay.com

Category: Miscellaneous

Dear visitor, you have entered to site as unregistered user.
We recommend you to Register or Login to website under your name.

Information
Members of Guest cannot leave comments.

USACONSUMERCOMPLAINTS.COM - United States Consumer Complaints, Reviews, Reports, Feedbacks and Claims. Board of Shame. Black list.

Every consumer of goods and services can leave on the site USACONSUMERCOMPLAINTS.COM a complaint, review, report, a claim or negative feedback on the person, firm, company, shop, service or web-based project, whose actions left this consumer dissatisfied.

^